The g7+ group is officially granted an Associated Observer category by the Community of Portuguese Speaking Countries (CPLP) on July 17, 2021 in Luanda, Angola. The resolution was approved during the XIII Summit of the Head of States and Governments of the member countries of CPLP held in Luanda, Angola.

The g7+ is among other 13 countries and organizations namely, Canada, Cote d’Ivoire, India, Helenica, Peru, Qatar, Romania, Spain, United States of America, Ibero American Conference and EPLO, which were granted the category of Associated Observer.

This is an important milestone for the g7+ in its policy advocacy discourse. The g7+ group can benefit from the experience of CPLP members in consolidating peace and stability. In addition, it provides an opportunity of cooperation between CPLP and g7+ in areas of common interest, including the promotion and dissemination of Portuguese language.

The Summit was concluded with Luanda Declaration that outlines motto of “Building and Strengthening a Common and Sustainable Future” in which CPLP countries pledged to promote political and diplomatic dialogue, cooperation and facilitate sharing of experiences.

The declaration further emphasized the CPLP support on the acceleration of vaccinations and reaffirmed commitment to post pandemic economy recovery.




For more information, contact:

Helche Silvester, g7+ Communication and Media Officer,

T: +670 78477323,



The g7+ obtained Associated Observer category at the CPLP Summit (3)_210722_092831.pdf 258KB



Related Post

Quando Eu Partir
The g7+ and the Government of Timor Leste signs the Headquarters Agreement
Eminent Person visits the g7+ European Lisbon to strengthen the g7+ work globally amid Pandemic.
The g7+ officially participated in the 76th United Nations General Assembly as Observer.