Press Release

The g7+ obtained Associated Observer category at the CPLP Summit

The g7+ group is officially granted an Associated Observer category by the Community of Portuguese Speaking Countries (CPLP) on July 17, 2021 in Luanda, Angola. The resolution was approved during the XIII Summit of the Head of States and Governments of the member countries of CPLP held in Luanda, Angola.

The g7+ is among other 13 countries and organizations namely, Canada, Cote d’Ivoire, India, Helenica, Peru, Qatar, Romania, Spain, United States of America, Ibero American Conference and EPLO, which were granted the category of Associated Observer.

This is an important milestone for the g7+ in its policy advocacy discourse. The g7+ group can benefit from the experience of CPLP members in consolidating peace and stability. In addition, it provides an opportunity of cooperation between CPLP and g7+ in areas of common interest, including the promotion and dissemination of Portuguese language.  

The Summit was concluded with Luanda Declaration that outlines motto of “Building and Strengthening a Common and Sustainable Future” in which CPLP countries pledged to promote political and diplomatic dialogue, cooperation and facilitate sharing of experiences. 

The declaration further emphasized the CPLP support on the acceleration of vaccinations and reaffirmed commitment to post pandemic economy recovery.


For more information, contact:

Helche Silvester, g7+ Communication and Media Officer, 

T: +670 78477323,


About the g7+

The g7+ is an intergovernmental organisation of 20 conflicted-affected countries that exists to create a platform to share experiences and promote country-led engagement strategies to achieve peace and stability through peer learning and advocacy for effective cooperation. The member countries are Afghanistan, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Liberia, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Somalia, São Tomé and Príncipe, Solomon Islands, South Sudan, Timor-Leste, Togo and Yemen. The g7+ is currently chaired by Sierra Leone. The g7+ Advisory Board Council is composed of Eminent Persons and Special Envoys. The headquarters of the g7+ is based in Dili, Timor-Leste with a Hub in Lisbon, Portugal. Find out more at

Add Your Heading Text Here