Press Release

The g7+ welcome and support the efforts to bring Peace in Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

The g7+ welcomes the efforts to bring lasting peace and stability in Afghanistan and hopes that the “Joint Declaration for Bringing Peace to Afghanistan” between the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan and the United States and the “Agreement for Bringing Peace to Afghanistan” signed between Taliban and the United States, will result in a permanent ceasefire and end the suffering of the Afghan people. 


The  g7+ stands ready to support the Government of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan in the upcoming intra-Afghan dialogue through sharing of experiences in peace and reconciliation.  

The g7+ calls upon the international community and regional actors to support the Government of Islamic Republic of Afghanistan to maintain the gains made over the years and hence ensure a peaceful, stable and prosperous future for the Afghan people. END

For further information:

Helche Silvester

Communication and Media Officer

+670 78477323 | F: The g7+ | @g7plus

About the g7+

Formally established in 2010, the g7+ is an inter-governmental organization of 20 countries affected by conflict and fragility that established to share lessons on peacebuilding and statebuilding and advocate for country-led peace and stability. The g7+ member counties are Afghanistan, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Liberia, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sao Tome and Principe, Solomon Islands, South Sudan, Timor-Leste, Togo and Yemen. 

Sierra Leone is the current chairing country of the g7+ and the permanent Secretariat is based in Dili, Timor-Leste, with the European Hub is in Lisbon, Portugal.