Press Release

Courtesy visit of g7

UN General Assembly grants observer status to g7+ – a historic milestone.

The United Nations (UN) General Assembly on 18 December 2019 adapted the resolution granting g7+ an observer status at the UN. This is a historical milestone in the journey of the g7+. The decision to apply for the observer status was taken during the 5th Ministerial meeting of g7+ in June 2019. Subsequently, the Permanent mission of Sierra Leone to the UN on behalf of the g7+ members submitted the request to the UN Secretary General upon which the item was included in the agenda of the 74th session of the General Assembly. The g7+ Secretariat worked along with the Permanent missions of Sierra Leone, Timor-Leste and other members in New York during the month of October to galvanize support for the resolution.

The General Assembly decision 49/426 of 9th December 1994, contains that the granting of observer status in the General Assembly is confined “to States and to those intergovernmental organizations whose activities cover matters of interest to the Assembly”. Hence, the milestone of achieving observe status is the manifests that the g7+ in an important inter-governmental organization. This was also indicated by members of UN that the g7+ consulted during its mission in September and October 2019.

With the observer Status at the UN, the g7+ will have the avenue through which it can provide collective perspective in the agenda and work of UN, particularly on building and sustaining peace and security, improving peacekeeping operations, and the 2030 Agenda. The group will benefit in its close collaboration with the United Nations and its organs in their struggle to achieve lasting Peace and stability.

The g7+ Secretariat thanks the leadership of the chairing country, Sierra Leone, host country of g7+ (Timor-Leste), g7+ member countries for their support and the non-g7+ member countries for their co-sponsorship and support.

For further informaiton, please contact:

Helche Silvester
Communication and Media Officer
+670 78477323 | F: The g7+ | @g7plus

About the g7+
Formally established in 2010, the g7+ is an inter-governmental organization of 20 countries affected by conflict and fragility that established to share lessons on peacebuilding and state building and advocate for country-led peace and stability. The g7+ member counties are Afghanistan, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Guinea,
Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Liberia, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sao Tome and Principe, Solomon Islands, South Sudan, Timor-Leste, Togo and Yemen. Sierra Leone is the current chairing country of the g7+ and the permanent Secretariat is based in Dili,
Timor-Leste, with the European Hub is in Lisbon, Portugal.